Japanese? Korean? American?

When I went to Korea this winter vacation, I learned that I no longer
look Korean, but I look Japanese.  My grandmother’s friend came over
and told me I look Japanese.
I thought she is just saying this because she knows I live in Japan.
But couple days later, I was showing my Japanese friend around Myong
dong, and while we were shopping, all the workers at the stores spoke
to me in Japanese.  At this one shop, the lady worker was fluent in
Japanese because she had lived in Japan for 6 years.  So I asked her
in Japanese, “What nationality do you think I am?” and she said, “Not
Japan, because your Japanese has an accent.”  So I spoke back to her
in Korean that I’m Korean.  But she replied, “But you are not Korean
either because your Korean accent is weird.”  I then told her that I’m
from States.  But funnier thing happened when a dude in a spider-man
suit tried to get us to come eat at this restaurant….he kept following
us, so I told him to stop in Korean.

Me : Ah JJOM!!!  Gue man hae yo!! (STOP)
Spider-man: Oh, are you Jae ill gyo po?  (Korean Japanese)
Me: No.
Spider-man: Then why do you have a weird accent?
Me: I’m from States. (walking away…telling Japanese friend what
happened in Japanese)
Spider-man: (pops out of nowhere) You lied to me! You`re Japanese.
 -___-

More confirmations about how I look Japanese….

At the airport―

Lady doing the security check :  E jjok eu ro o se yo (come this way… in Korean)

Lady: (looks up at me)  Chotto kochi ni kite kudasai.  Kutsu sawattemo
ii desuka. (Come this way. May I check your shoes…in Japanese).

Me: (pretending to be Japanese ‘cause can’t be bothered) Hai ii desu…

In the plane
Cabin attendant: Gamsahapnida, uhsuh o ship shi yo.  (Thank you.
Please come in..in Korean)
Canbin attendant: (looks up at me) Irrashaimase. Arigatougozaimasu….
-__-

Anyway, I chopped off my hair and dyed it super light brown. =)
And I’ve been getting many different comments from kids.

Jr. high boy 1- どちもにあわん。You don’t look good with neither hair style….
Jr. high boy 2- 男の顔しちゅう。 You look like a guy….

Elementary kid 1- 前がよかった。長いほうがいい。 You looked better before.  You look
better with long hair.
Elementary kid 2- モデルみたい!  You look like a model! (obviously most honest kid)

But funniest thing happened today…..one 6th grade teacher in the
morning called me and his assistant teacher over….I thought he was
gonna tell us something serious or tell me about today’s lesson.  He
looks at his assistant teacher and says, “Hey, don’t you think Hyemi
looks very nice with the new hair cut?”  “Hyemi, how do you say you
look cute in English?”  “I just called you over to tell you that.” LOL

He’s pretty old, so I don’t think he was saying this in a sleezy way.
Haha but this one comment really made my day.  I should say nice
things to ppl more often!

Btw, why is yen weakening so much when I need to send money home…..

One response to “Japanese? Korean? American?

  1. LOLOL “pops out of nowhere” this spiderman was really aggressive in trying to get you to eat at his restaurant!! he probably couldn’t resist you and your new hair 🙂

Leave a comment