世の中は銭や!

The other day, PE teacher at my junior high taught me this phrase, “世の中は銭や!”  It means this world is all about money.  He told me to say it in a Yakuza-like (gang) voice. 

So then I turned around to my vice-principal and said it and all the teachers around me started laughing.  One teacher yelled at the PE teacher for teaching me this phrase. lol

The PE teacher said it’s not a good thing to say. I guess he just wanted to teach me some bad Japanese. haha

I forgot the phrase this morning and asked the PE teacher again, and he refused to say it…after asking a couple times, he finally gave in and said, “世の中は銭や! (yononakawa zeniya!)” being all gangster-like. 

I guess b/c teachers are always busy at school, i’m thankful whenever i can laugh and talk with them for once.  So yeah, this phrase, even though it’s bad, will be something i will be saying to teachers time to time at work and make them laugh….but then again, if i say it too often, the magic will wear out and they’re gonna think i’m a weird gangster-wannabe foreigner. =D

Leave a comment